Unique

When I was wondering what to use for the title, I was about to write “Not Like Everybody Else”, but then I realized, duh! I could easily just say “Unique” and say the same thing (so, obviously, that’s what I did!).

Anyway, that’s what this post is about: being “not like everybody else” or “unique”, or even “different”. But in a different way than what we usually hear, “standing out from the crowd”–not that that’s a bad thing. But it’s not what I’m focusing on here. People often say another phrase: “going with the flow”. It’s a phrase that’s tossed around carelessly, but what is it’s true meaning?

Let’s see.

What is the flow, exactly? It’s something we always need to find out, before we decide to just “go with it”. It’s easy to go with the flow, to follow the crowd–but it’s not always the right thing.

And you see, it’s our Christian duty to be unique. When everybody else is doing the wrong thing, we may think, “Well, it’s okay to do that, because everyone else is doing it. Besides, who will notice it?” First of all, it’s not okay. “Everybody else” isn’t a Christian. If you are, it’s your job not to do the wrong thing. Secondly, someone will notice; of course, it might be one of your friends, a buddy from church, your parents–but there is one person who will always know, and that’s God.

When people look at you, what do they think? Do they think, “Wow, they’re so different from everybody else–they seem like such a good person!” And then they begin to wonder why…it’s an opportunity to share. But maybe they look at you and don’t see anything different. Don’t let that happen.

And remember, if you’re having a tough time being unique, God’s always there. Whenever you need Him, you can pray, and He’ll be listening and ready to give you some Fatherly advice.

Be unique.

TTT

Must Reads:

4 thoughts on “Unique

  1. Hi! Just found your blog via your comment on the Rebelution… Great job on your blog!

    Anyway, some thoughts on the post… It is so hard to be different from others, especially during the teen years, when the main focus is “fitting in’. But sometimes we even have to be different from our Christian friends, because of the corrupting influences. This is the toughest thing for me when interacting with my Christian buddies. The rationalization that you mentioned in your post (“Well, it must be okay because everybody else is doing it.”) is even stronger then, because it’s other Christian people doing the things that I know are not necessarily the right thing.

    This has been a big struggle for me recently, having been at several church camps and retreats over the year, and noticing this every single time. But “just so happening” (ha ha… more like God’s perfect timing) to run across this at the right time… thanks.

    Keep up the good work!

    In Christ,
    Jessica

    Like

    • Hello Jessica! It’s wonderful to see you here! And thank you very much.

      Definitely. I deal with the issues of fitting in every day (though not as pronounced because I am home schooled), including at church. Very good point…even well-meaning Christian friends can lead us astray. We really just have to depend on God. 2 Thessalonians 3:3 says this: “But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen you and protect you from the evil one.” And when we do have Christian friends who are striving to follow God and not “follow the crowd”, who can encourage us and help to set a good example for us. Unfortunately, it can be hard to find friends like that.

      I will keep you in my prayers, Jessica, and I am so glad that I was able to give you some encouragement through this post. Stand tall in Him!

      God bless you,
      TTT

      Like

      • I’m homeschooled too! 🙂

        You hit the nail on the head. Depending on God is sometimes the only thing we can do. As it says in the Psalms numerous times, He is our refuge and strength.

        Another verse to remember when dealing with this issue is Romans 12:1-2, particularly the first part of 2. “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world; but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what that good, and acceptable, and perfect will of God is.”

        Alongside following those good examples whenever we can find them, we should also strive to become good examples for others to follow… devoted to God and to following Him, seeking after righteousness, purity, etc. (1 Tim 4:12, 2 Tim 2:22…)

        Thanks for praying.

        In Christ,
        Jessica

        Like

        • That’s neat! I am so grateful that my mom put in the extra effort in order to home-school me.

          Not only is depending on God sometimes the only thing we can do, it is something we should do no matter what the situation is. So true; the Psalms are an excellent source of encouragement. I think a good example is Psalm 6:27, which says, “My salvation and my honor depend on God; He is my mighty rock, my refuge.”

          That is an amazing verse; “and be not conformed to this world” is a good point on being unique.

          Yes, the things that you mentioned I’ve noticed many times in the Bible (and with a good reason!). The two that you mentioned are a couple of my favorites. I had never really noticed 1 Timothy 4:12 before I found out about the Rebelution, and now I find it to be a constant source of encouragement.

          Thank you so much sharing your insight, Jessica. God bless you!

          Like

Share your thoughts

