To Be Merciful

We’ve gone through four of the Beatitudes so far. Today we are focusing on mercy. Being merciful may not be the easiest thing in the world, but let me tell you: it’s well worth it.

Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy. (Matthew 5:7)

Okay, so here’s what being merciful is all about: Showing kindness and forgiveness to those who don’t deserve it. Now you’re thinking, “This doesn’t make any sense. If they don’t deserve it, why would I give it to them?” It’s time to put this in perspective.

Do you think of yourself as a good person? Maybe, maybe not. For me, it kind of depends on the mood I’m in. If I just helped my mom with the dishes without being asked to, I’m thinking, “Hey, I’m a pretty good person!” On the other hand, if I laugh at my friend’s crazy outfit before I can stop myself, I’ll immediately think, “Aah, what did I just do?! I’m such a horrible person!”

The thing is, however we perceive ourselves, our hearts are sinful. By nature. And yet, while we were sinners, God sent His only Son to die for us on the cross so that we could spend eternity with Him (Romans 5:8). Look, God is perfect. We, to dramatically understate it, are not. We did not deserve to receive salvation. And yet God, in his mercy, gave it to us anyway. This is an attitude we need to reflect. Just as God was merciful to us, we need to show mercy to others.

Here’s the confusing part of this verse. It says that the merciful will be shown mercy. We kind of see this as, “If you aren’t merciful, than you won’t receive any mercy!” Well, I don’t think that’s what it’s really saying. After all, there were those of us who weren’t merciful in the slightest way, and yet God’s gift of salvation was available to us anyway. I think a lot of this (and I want to thank my dad for helping me figure this out!) has to do with growing in God. You see, we don’t become saved and automatically become perfect Christians. Rather, our life is a journey of growing in Him, and being merciful is part of that.

It’s not always easy to show mercy. In fact, most of the time, it’s very hard. But in return, we receive a stronger, closer relationship with God. It doesn’t get better than that!

TTT

More from The Beatitudes:

Top Posts & Pages:

3 thoughts on “To Be Merciful

  1. Pingback: My Daughter’s Wonderful Beatitude « The Peacemaker Path

Share your thoughts

