Pure of Heart

Would you describe yourself as being pure of heart? When I first considered that, my thoughts were, “Well, I won’t be putting ‘pure of heart’ on my list of qualities.” But, the problem was, I mistaking “pure of heart” for “perfect”. And while we definitely aren’t perfect, it is possible to have a pure heart.

God blesses those whose hearts are pure, for they will see God. (Matthew 5:8, NLT)

The verses I use here are generally from the New International Version, but I like the way the New Living Translation put this verse. I’d like to clarify, once again, that being pure of heart does not mean you are perfect. If that was the case, none of us would be pure of heart, and (according to this verse) none of us would see God. Yikes!

Thankfully, that isn’t the case. So I was looking over the notes I’d taken when my dad taught that class on the Beatitudes. Now I think I’m starting to get. To be pure of heart means we’re focusing on God. We don’t let worldly things take priority over God. It’s like spending time in prayer instead of watching TV. Or reading the Bible because of it’s encouraging message, not because we want to check off another box on our “Read the Bible in a Year” plan (though those are good; I’m following one myself!). It’s putting God first; having a one-track mind that leads straight to Him. The things of this world can easily become our idols; we need to make sure that we know and believe that God alone is our Lord and Savior.

I don’t know if this describes your life right now; maybe not. But if you make an effort to put God first, He’ll give you the strength you need to continue.

For You are great and do marvelous deeds; You alone are God. (Psalm 86:10, NIV)

TTT

 

More from The Beatitudes:

Top Posts & Pages:

2 thoughts on “Pure of Heart

Share your thoughts

