One Life To Live

As Christians, we know that we’re going to spend eternity with God. Despite that, there’s always the fact that we only have one life to live. Sadly, most of us don’t make the most of it, but you never know what tomorrow may bring.

Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered–how fleeting my life is. You have made my life no longer than the width of my hand. My entire lifetime is just a moment to You; at best, each of us is but a breath. We are merely moving shadows, and all our busy rushing ends in nothing. We heap up wealth, not knowing who will spend it. And so, Lord, where do I put my hope? My only hope is in You. (Psalm 39:4-7, NLT)

Depending on how you look at it, this passage can be a bit depressing. Compared to eternity, our lives are shockingly short. But that doesn’t mean that we don’t have time to make a difference. In fact, every single day is filled with hundreds of opportunities to share God’s love. Unfortunately, we simply don’t take advantage of them.

These missed opportunities can seem like small things at first. I can easily think of times when I could have said “Hi” to a newcomer at church and, because I hesitated, lost the chance. Or maybe when a friend needed cheering up and I was too wrapped up in my own problems to care. We’ve all faced similar things. But here’s the truth: Once you’ve missed that opportunity, it’s gone. Sure, you’ll get other chances, but that moment is lost forever. And, frankly, life is too short to allow for all these opportunities we allow to slip by.

Pay close attention to the lyrics in these two songs. Make the most of your life, and shine your light for all to see!

TTT

 

What’s New:

Top Posts & Pages:

Share your thoughts

