I’m Going To Heaven; Are You?

Sunlight, Trees

Sunlight, Trees (Photo credit: Creativity+ Timothy K Hamilton)

It’s an average first day of school. I’m sitting at the kitchen table and reading my English textbook (I’m home schooled). Normal situation, right? And suddenly, I realize something. I’m going to heaven; God loves me; Jesus died for my sins and is living in my heart; I have a close relationship with God. If you, like me, have grown up in church, you’ve heard all of this before. But it’s a sort of reality check that comes out of nowhere (though I have a feeling it’s the Holy Spirit giving me a wake-up call). Like someone saying, “Hey, this is real!” And it make you realize that this isn’t the only life there is. Someday we will be with God for all eternity, and there will be no more tears, no more sorrow, no more pain. How can you not get excited about that?!

Of course, I’ve always known it’s real; but, for a lot of us, this knowledge becomes matter-of-fact and common-place. Like, “Yeah, I’m going to heaven, I’m saved. I know the drill.” But, if we really and truly believe that Jesus is one day coming back to rapture His church, we can’t live life in a “so what?” way. What God has done for us is amazing, unmatchable. Shouldn’t this affect how we live our daily lives?

A row of shopping carts.

A row of shopping carts. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One of the things that strikes me the most is how living for God can turn the most every-day situations into an opportunity to share the Gospel. For example, a trip to the grocery store is no big deal, right? Actually, it’s pretty boring. But if I go with the perspective of “I’m going to heaven”, it puts another question onto my mind: Are these people going to heaven? Do they know that God loves them no matter what they have done? That he loves them so much that He sent His only Son to die on a cross so that they don’t have to go to hell (John 3:16)? Heaven and hell are real. God is real. And He loves you and wants to be able to call you His child.

And if you are saved, there’s something you need to realize. You are spiritually wealthy (see Ali’s post here) and filled with the Holy Spirit. It is up to us to spread the Gospel (a.k.a. good news) to those who haven’t heard it.

Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all men, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” (The Great Commission: Matthew 28:16-20)

This is not only up to people who train to be missionaries or are ordained pastors. This is a message to everyone who has receive Christ into their heart.

Jesus Friend Request

Jesus Friend Request (Photo credit: Secret Sinai)

So next time you make another shopping trip or go out with a group of your friends, take a moment to look at the people around you. Is God giving you an opportunity to witness to others? Do you have friends that don’t have a relationship with God and aren’t going to heaven? It’s our job to share the good news. And while this may seem like a scary or impossible task, have faith. God’s watching out for you.

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. (Joshua 1:9)

TTT

What’s New:

Popular Articles:

5 thoughts on “I’m Going To Heaven; Are You?

  1. You write so well, and whenever I read your blog entries your passion for Christ and His purposes just flows out. I know hey, we can all get a bit complacent about heaven – but when we remember that YES! WE ARE GOING THERE! it changes our perspective, as you say. May we be filled with a daily excitement to spread His love to everyone we know on the way to that moment we meet Him face to face. Thanks for the reminder (and thanks too for the reference to my blog :))

    Like

Share your thoughts

