Following God’s Plan (Not Ours)

Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails. (Proverbs 19:21, NIV)

Garden flower

Garden flower (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Many are the plans in a man’s heart”…how true is that? Some days, I’m pretty sure all I do is think about the future. And, at our age, that’s not a bad thing. Right now, we have our whole lives ahead of us. We have a chance to do a lot with our lives; doesn’t that involve some planning?

Hold on a minute: There’s more to that verse, isn’t there? “…but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails”. Hmm…well, it seems pretty obvious that it’s not saying it’s my purpose that prevails. So what does this all mean?

Have you ever bought something you just had to have and then it stayed in the back of your closet for the next five years? It happens to all of us. But it’s funny how, before you got it, you kinda feel like you can’t even live without whatever it is…and then it turns out that you live perfectly fine without it. How do we get so mixed up sometimes? It’s because we’re human. We all make mistakes.

But guess what? God doesn’t make mistakes. God’s plan is perfect. That’s right, perfect. How many things have you done that you can call perfect? Yeah, we kind of fall short in that area, don’t we?

When we plan our future, no matter what our age, we get all these ideas in our head about how our life is going to go in this direction and it’s going to turn out just so. Fortunately, that’s not how it goes.

And that’s right; I said fortunately.

Sure, we think it’d be awesome if everything went the way we wanted it to. But honestly? I don’t think that would turn out so well. Even if we do have Jesus in our life, we’re still humans. We still make the wrong choices and want the wrong things. Thankfully, God’s around to help straighten our lives out. There are days when we can’t understand why we didn’t get what we wanted, but months and years later we look back and realized that it was a good thing.

God sees the big picture. We don’t know what’s going to happen tomorrow, or next week, or next year. Only God does. And I’m prepared to put my trust in Him. To put my life in His hands and let Him guide me in the right direction. I’m ready to follow His plan, not mine. Are you?

I love how Francesca Battistelli puts it in her song Free To Be Me. I’d give you a quick summary of how it goes and what it’s about, but hey, why not just watch it?

We all have our plans, our hopes and dreams for the future. It’s time to lay these down at God’s feet and say that we want to live the life He has planned for us. After all, everything He does is perfect (Psalm 18:30) and He loves us more than we could ever comprehend; why wouldn’t we want to live our life completely for Him?

But I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. (Psalm 13:5)

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

TTT

What’s New:

Popular Articles:

5 thoughts on “Following God’s Plan (Not Ours)

  1. “It’s your life, whatcha gonna do, the world is watching you….”
    (another awesome song)
    I love Battestelli! My friend and I sing at our local Farmer’s Market every summer, and we have Free to be Me in our repertoire.

    Like

    • I’m so glad! I’ve found that, in reading other people’s blogs, analogies really help me to understand and relate to what is being said. So I’ve tried to integrate that into some of my own writing, and I’m very happy to hear that you liked it!
      God bless,
      TTT

      Like

Share your thoughts

