Daily Worship

A modern Western worship team leading a contem...

A modern Western worship team leading a contemporary worship session. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have the great privilege of being on the worship team at my church. Even though I still get nervous at times, I really enjoy getting up there and leading worship with the rest of the team. To be able to use one of the gifts God has given us for His glory…that’s really all we should strive for.

However, we have a tendency to confine worship. We put it in this little box and say that worship is singing praise songs and lifting our hands as we sing of our Creator. Sure, this is worship, but it doesn’t have to be confined to Sunday mornings/Wednesday nights or whenever a Christian song is playing on the radio.

What does worship mean, exactly? To praise our God for everything He’s done, to bring glory to Him. But let’s get a little more precise. Does worship mean singing praise songs? Wouldn’t praying or reading the Bible also be forms of worship?

Symbol of Christianity, white version.

Symbol of Christianity, white version. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Before the service starts, we say “Worship is starting” (or something along those lines, anyway) and begin the first song. But should our worship really be “starting”. Maybe the service is starting; however, I think that our worship should be continuous. Worship isn’t something we should do. It’s something we should live.

If worship is bring glory to God, shouldn’t we be striving to do that every day, every moment of our lives? While we can do it with our voices, we can also do it through the way we treat others, the thoughts we think–everything that we do.

When we start to live and breathe worship, our relationship with God grows stronger and closer. When, in every moment, the only thing we want is to serve and glorify and adore Him, we are really living a Christian life. That’s the kind of life I want to live. I want the world to know that He is the reason I live, the source of every breath I breathe. Praise God!

TTT

What’s New:

Popular Articles:

8 thoughts on “Daily Worship

  1. Awesome! It is completely true, that our worship should be continuous! That’s why I always say that “With music I praise God- with my life I worship him!” We shouldn’t confine our worship to only in service basis! Thanks for the post! : D

    Like

  2. This is a great post on worship, you have the right idea I think. We should be worshiping God with our whole lives, not just when singing songs. We need to be obeying His word at all times. And in that regard, I have a question for you.

    1 Peter 3:15 says, “but in your hearts regard Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you;” So what reason do you give for the hope you have in Christ? In other words, what “defense” do you make for the truth of Christianity? If someone asked you, “Why do you believe in Jesus?” What would your answer be?

    Like

    • Thanks for the input, Jason! I remember how, when I was younger, I always heard (and still do sometimes) that we can’t just be Christians on Sunday and live like the rest of the world during the week. I think this is really similar; worshiping isn’t just confined to when we sing praise songs. If we’re serious about our relationship with God, worship will be present in every aspect of our lives.
      That’s an excellent verse! Our youth pastor uses it all the time. It’s really thought provoking: If asked, will we be able to tell someone why we are Christians? Will we be able to share the Gospel with them? Are we prepared?
      God bless you,
      TTT

      Like

      • Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts, the reason I asked about 1 Peter 3:15 is because I know of a great answer we can give for why we believe in Jesus. Have you ever heard of Christian apologetics? It means defending the Christian faith or giving reasons for believing in Jesus. I’ve studied it a little, and there’s a great article I like to share with Christians to help build up their faith and also help them share their faith with others. It’s by renowned Christian apologist Professor William Lane Craig, and it’s titled Jesus’ Resurrection, here’s the link:

        http://www.reasonablefaith.org/jesus-resurrection

        The article gives historical evidence for the truth of Christ’s resurrection. Please read this if you get a chance and let me know what you think of it. You can comment me back here or at my blog. I also recommend having a look around the rest of the site, reasonablefaith.org is an outstanding Christian resource. This is so important because Christian apologetics helps build up the believer’s faith, but also, sharing an article like this with unsaved friends can really help reach them as well.

        Thanks and God bless you too! 🙂

        Like

Share your thoughts

