Happy Holidays?

The Manger Scene

The Manger Scene (Photo credit: Daniel Y. Go)

I’ve been kind of frustrated lately. Christmas is in nine days (can you believe it?!), but this is something that’s been on my mind for a while. It’s like everywhere I look, people are saying Happy Holidays instead of Merry Christmas, holiday parties instead of Christmas parties, holiday trees instead of Christmas trees…you get the idea. I mean, what is it about Christmas that offends people so much?

It took me a while to get started on this post because I didn’t want it to seem like a rant. Here goes:

It’s okay to say Merry Christmas to someone even if they don’t celebrate it. I don’t celebrate Halloween and I don’t mind if people tell me Happy Halloween. I love God and during Christmas I celebrate the birth of His Son, Jesus Christ. Is it all right if I share my joy with you by wishing you a merry Christmas?

For I am not ashamed of this Good News about Christ. It is the power of God at work, saving everyone who believes—the Jew first and also the Gentile. (Romans 1:16, NLT)

I am not ashamed of the Gospel of Christ. I am not ashamed of sharing my faith, even in simple ways such as putting a manger scene in my front yard (which apparently can also be offensive).

I think I’m about done, but I have one more thing to say before I go:

Merry CHRISTmas!!!

-christrocks

What’s New:

Popular Articles:

2 thoughts on “Happy Holidays?

  1. Pingback: Manger Stories « Once A Little Girl
  2. Pingback: Merry Christmas? Happy Holidays? Seasons Greetings? | The Cranky Giraffe

Share your thoughts

