Being Our Very Best

tiara, headpiece

tiara, headpiece (Photo credit: damselfly58)

After a whirlwind Christmas, I celebrated my week of freedom by agreeing to babysit my neighbor’s kids. Fun, I know. But I like kids, so it wasn’t really that big of a deal. Then again…one of the girls, a four year old, is a handful. A sometimes sweet but very spoiled little princess. I can’t help but get upset over it. This little girl who throws a tantrum if she doesn’t get what she wants when she wants and from this particular person. What kind of teenager, what kind of adult is she going to become?

Here’s the thing: she’s four years old. Her life thus far has told her that throwing a tantrum and being disrespectful is okay. But when she’s older, she’ll have a choice. A choice to continue with the way she’s acting, or to turn her life around.

We all have that choice.

On my about page, I’ve stated that my purpose is to change the way the world sees teens. That maybe, through my posts, I can inspire some people to change certain parts of their life for the better. That’s my hope, anyway. But the thing is, I can’t force anyway to change. I can try to point them in the right direction, but if they’re against it, only God can change their hearts. We can guide others when the opportunity presents itself, but in the end, you are the only one that can decide to change yourself (again, besides God). No other person can do that for you.

There maybe a big thing in your life that’s pulling you downhill, or maybe it’s just a little nagging habit that you need to overcome. Maybe right now you’re thinking “Hey, I’ve tried to turn my life around. I’ve tried to stop doing this certain thing, but I haven’t been able to.”

That’s because even though no one else can change your life for you, you can’t change it on your own. Only God can bring you to that place where you can defeat whatever is tearing you down.

So it’s up to you. It’s up to you to get down on your knees and ask God to help you change your life. Big or small, He’s there for you. Without Him, there’s no way we can ever be our very best. With Him, nothing’s impossible.

I can do all this through him who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:13, NIV)

-christrocks

Popular Articles:

Share your thoughts

