Walk by Faith

Eye

Eye (Photo credit: Brittany Greene)

Here’s some food for thought: I have never seen God. And what I mean by that is that I’ve never seen Him with my own two eyes. So one could easily ask how I could believe in a God I’ve never seen. How do I even know He exists?

I suppose I don’t know, exactly. But that’s where a little something called faith comes into play.

A lot of people in this world claim there is no God. But I won’t get into that; what I want to talk about is why we Christians say there is a God. When I think about that, often the first thing that comes to mind is life. Just the beauty and intricacy of it. A friend of mine has just welcomed a new member into her family, and it’s makes me smile to think of that precious little baby. You see, if you don’t believe in God, you must believe there is no God. But if there is no God, all of this must have come from somewhere, right? So scientists say we evolved. But when I go outside and see the birds, feel the breeze and the sunshine, smell the fresh air, when I see a little baby wiggling his toes and little kids playing tag in my front yard, I just can’t believe that. Life is too amazing (and amazing is hardly a good enough word for it) to have happened by a series of accidents. (Besides, evolution is really a belief in itself, but, again, I won’t get into that right now).

Another thing: my faith isn’t just a belief that God exists somewhere in this vast universe. I have a personal relationship with Him. The Holy Spirit resides within me and guides me. I have read His living and breathing Word and He has spoken to me through it. God is not dead. He is as real as you and me. His love is as real as His sending His only Son to die for us, that we may be forgiven of our sins and spend eternity with Him.

I haven’t seen God. But I have seen Him work in my life and in the lives of those around me. And someday, I will see Him face to face, and I will worship Him for all eternity. I know that.

We live by faith, not by sight. (2 Corinthians 5:7)

And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to Him must believe that He exists and that He rewards those who earnestly seek Him. (Hebrews 11:6)

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. (Galatians 2:20)

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. (Hebrews 11:1)

Faith is powerful. “Sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” It’s not, “Well, I guess God exists and I suppose He loves me.” No. It’s sureness. It’s certainty. It’s faith.

-christrocks

One thought on “Walk by Faith

  1. Pingback: “The Return of the King” « Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Share your thoughts

