Focusing on Today

Flower Fields of Carlsbad

Flower Fields of Carlsbad (Photo credit: Bill Gracey)

I stress about the future. All the time. I’m a teen with dreams and hopes, but do you know what the devil loves to do? He loves to make me doubt. He tells me, “You seriously think you can do these things? You’re a kid. You’re nothing. Everyone else is so much better than you.” One of the things that keeps me going when the devil starts whispering in my ear is to tell myself that these dreams, these hopes, were put on my heart by God. Then sometimes I think that I’m wrong, and maybe God is the one telling me I can’t do this. But God wouldn’t use a negative voice. He wouldn’t try to tear me down. He would gently steer me in the direction I’m really supposed to go.

And yet, as much as I tell myself to just trust in God and put my life in His hands, I get stressed. I doubt, fret, and get discouraged. What’s the best thing to do in times like this? Read the Bible! Let’s look at Matthew 6:25-34.

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?  Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

This is one of my favorite passages in the Bible. (I know it’s long, but don’t just skim it; really read what it has to say!). The first verse clearly tells you what the passage is about: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life”. The passage goes on to talk about the birds and the flowers, which don’t labor or sow or reap or spin, and yet our Father (God!) feeds and clothes them. In fact, Solomon, one of the wisest and wealthiest men in the Bible, is said not to have been dressed as splendidly as the flowers of the field.

I like what it says next: “If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you–you of little faith?” God loved us enough to send His son to die for us. Can we not then trust Him to clothe us? To feed us?

The last verse, for me at least, is the most powerful. “Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” We get so caught up in our plans and our future that we forget to just live. Before we know it, the days will be gone. We need to focus on taking care of today’s problems, and on doing things today that may further the goals of tomorrow. But what can we do by worrying?

Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life? (Luke 12:25)

Focus on today and fix your eyes on God. Trust Him to provide you with not only your earthly needs, but your spiritual needs as well.

TTT

Popular Articles:

One thought on “Focusing on Today

  1. Pingback: “Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow; it empties today of its strength.” —Mary Engelbreit | Nizy's Life Compendium

Share your thoughts

