Never a Good Idea?

Sunset

Sunset (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I usually don’t make use of the Daily Prompts, since they aren’t really relevant to my blog. But when I read today’s prompt, I immediately hopped over to the “Add New Post” page. (Well, maybe not immediately…) Here’s what it said:

“It’s never a good idea to discuss religion or politics with people you don’t really know.” Agree or disagree?

Disagree.

Obviously I’m going to focus on the religion aspect of this question since politics isn’t really my thing (what an understatement). My first thought was that if you never shared your faith with people you didn’t really know, you’d miss a lot of opportunities to witness. But the more I thought about it, I began to realize that there’s more to it than that.

One thing to consider is the question’s use of words. It says that it’s never a good idea to discuss religion. Well, that shouldn’t be a problem for me, because I don’t have a religion, I have a relationship with God.

“If you say so,” you might say, “but I don’t really see a difference.”

Here’s the thing: religion is made of rituals, routines. It’s cold and dead. The relationship that we have with God is vibrant, full of life. We’re not putting our faith in wooden or metal idols. We’re trusting in the God who gave us our salvation. And, seriously, how can you not talk about that?

Some people are terrified of witnessing in certain situations, myself included. “They’ll think I’m weird,” we fret. “I won’t say anything right now, I”ll just wait till I get another chance.” But if God is tugging on your heart and has given you an opportunity to share your testimony, don’t hesitate, no matter how well you know the person.

I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile. (Romans 1:16)

As I wrote this, a song by Britt Nicole popped into my head.

Don’t be afraid to stand out!
That’s how the lost get found…
So when you get the chance
Are you going to take it?
There’s a really big world at your fingertips
And you know you have the chance to change it

So what about you? Agree or disagree?

TTT

Popular Articles:

2 thoughts on “Never a Good Idea?

  1. Pingback: Never, Well Just This Once… | Keyboard Pizza
  2. Pingback: ARSENIC WORDS « hastywords

Share your thoughts

