Who Do We Represent?

Spotlight

Spotlight (Photo credit: tkw954)

It’s an interesting question. Who do you represent? What are your beliefs? If you’re a Christian, your life represents Christ. Think of it this way (and, sorry, this example applies more to girls than guys): Say you’re basically a fashion icon, a huge name in the fashion industry. It’s pretty easy to come to the conclusion that anyone who cares anything about style (and curious persons with no interest in style at all) will be watching you. They’ll want to know what designers you wear, what accessories you use, etc. Now think about this: You represent God to unbelievers. They know you’re a Christian, and when they’re curious about your faith, they’ll watch you.

Here’s something to ask yourself: Are you living a life that proclaims to the world that you serve a loving, powerful God? Or when people look at you, do you just look like everyone else?

This whole idea came to mind when I was talking to my neighbor a little while ago. Now, he’s not a Christian (and he knows we are), but every once in a while God pops into our conversations with him. We’ve invited him to church on numerous occasions, but he and his family always have excuses for not showing up.

In our conversation today, he had mentioned seeing me at my church a few days ago (our church is just a three minute drive from our house). It had been a Thursday night, I guess, which is when we have worship practice. And I think it’s just the weirdest thing. I mean, we’re always trying to get him to come to church, and there he was, driving by while I was practicing with the rest of the team. I keep wondering, did I look bored? Tired? Happy? Overflowing with the joy of the Lord? Well, probably not the last two, since it was my dad’s birthday and my back was hurting and I was kind of grumpy.

English: A Sennheiser Microphone

English: A Sennheiser Microphone (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Don’t take it the wrong way: I love being on the worship team. I feel so privileged that God has put me in such a position where I can use my talents to serve Him. But that night, I wasn’t feeling so good. My voice was rotten for whatever reason, I hadn’t even had time to finish school on account of having to go to a memorial service, and as I sat there rubbing my aching back (which was when my neighbor saw me), I probably looked miserable. Not a very good representation of Christ.

We need to put forth a conscious attempt to be a good representation of God, because chances are people are watching you, whether you realize it or not. When people look at you, they should see a joyful, loving Christian who is trying to serve the one true God in everything they do. Does that describe you?

But this is important: Don’t let it be an act. You can look like an awesome Christian on the outside and have a rotten heart on the inside. Live the way God wants you to live, and you will be the best representation of Christ you can possibly be.

Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children. (Ephesians 5:1, ESV)

TTT

Share your thoughts

