The True Meaning of Love

English: Two candles in love. The flame is inv...

English: Two candles in love. The flame is inverted heart shape. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Last night I finished reading When Heaven Weeps by Ted Dekker. Not a recent one of his, but amazing nonetheless. Maybe I should have known from the title that it was going to make me cry; to my surprise, I found that I wasn’t crying because the book was sad, but for the opposite reason.

To be brief and without actually getting into the book’s plot, it’s about love. Indescribable, unfathomable love. A love and a joy that seeps inside your bones, that overflows into those around you, that can make you laugh in the face of death.

Wow. What a book! If only I could write like that….

After I finished, I lay wide awake in bed for another two hours. All I could think about was what I’d just read. Not only the incredible plot, but the meaning behind it.

We throw the word love around so easily. We use it so often that I think we’ve begun to forget what it really means. I don’t claim to know, that’s for sure. But I’m praying that God will show me. I’m praying that He will fill me with an overwhelming desire to feel and know His love.

I’m not sure how to begin to tell you about the thoughts that are racing through my mind. Let’s start with the basics. God loves you. Did you know that? Well, of course you did. Most everyone has heard it thousands of times during their lives, to the point that their mind becomes numb to it. We start to say, “Sure, God loves me.” We can quote John 3:16 from memory. But what does it mean?

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. (1 Corinthians 13:4-7, NIV)

This is something else you’ve probably heard a million times. But please, please read it again and think about what it means. Patience. Kindness. It doesn’t not envy or boast, nor does it have pride. It is selfless. “Always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” Oh, to be filled with that kind of love.

To be filled with God.

Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. (1 John 4:8)

How do you tell others about something that is indescribable? Cry out to Jesus and pray that He will fill you with His love. You will never be the same.

But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. (Romans 5:8)

God loves you fiercely. He loves you more than anything in His marvelous creation. Oh, the depths of His love!

TTT

Related:

Popular Articles:

2 thoughts on “The True Meaning of Love

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Sanctuary (Ted Dekker) » Dave Enjoys
  2. Pingback: What is Love? | Encouragement 4 Life

Share your thoughts

