It’s Not Always Easy

Shy

Shy (Photo credit: Madeleine_)

I was looking at my About page earlier today, and I paused at something I’d said in describing myself:

And one more thing: I want to stand out from the crowd. I don’t want to be another one of “those” teenagers. Who’s with me?

Maybe it’s time clarify something. Saying “I want to be different” on my blog is easy. Doing it in real life…that’s a different story.

I have a good friend in my home school group. We have a lot in common: on top of both of us being home schooled, we’re Christians, we enjoy doing the same things, and we both love animals, to name a few. But we’re different in the fact that she is the most outgoing person I have ever met. That’s just not me, and I often catch myself envying her apparent ease when it comes to simple things like meeting new people and making conversation.

On the other hand, I fall into the “shy” and “quiet” category. When I’m with a group of people, I’m okay with just listening. I usually (depending on who I’m with) don’t feel a need to speak up, to be noticed. I’m comfortable with being quiet, but I don’t think people always get that. And then, when I’m just having a conversation with someone I don’t know very well, I find I’m so used to being quiet that I don’t know what to say. (Don’t get me wrong; catch me with a good friend and you’ll see me talking her ears off!)

The problem is, it’s almost impossible to stand out from the crowd when you’re quiet. If you’re shy, you won’t go for any of the opportunities to show yourself different from others.

I’m aware that this doesn’t apply to everyone. Maybe you’re outgoing, like my friend, or maybe you’re somewhere between that and being shy. But here’s where it does apply: Is there anything getting in the way of you being a Godly example for others? Most likely, your answer is yes, and it could be for any number of reasons. When something is in the way of where we are right now (like my being shy) and where God wants us to be, we need to adjust our lives so that we get to that place.

I’m not saying that God wants me to be just like my friend, but in the past, I have been so shy that it is just ridiculous. God made us to be unique, but He doesn’t want you to get into a place where you can’t further His kingdom.

I’ve been working on being less shy (with God’s help; it’s not something I can do on my own!) and I think I’ve made a little progress. I’m not an outgoing person–far from it!–but I’m starting to get more comfortable with meeting new people and just being myself with people I don’t know well.

What steps do you need to take to get from where you are to where God wants you to be? Pray for His guidance in taking those steps! It may not be the easy, popular, or convenient thing. Nevertheless, you need to be ready for the times when God will call you to do hard things!

Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity. Be diligent in these matters; give yourself wholly to them, so that everyone may see your progress. (1 Timothy 4:12, 15)

TTT

Popular Articles:

6 thoughts on “It’s Not Always Easy

  1. Great post. I am on the shy side too, but like you have been asking God for opportunities to step outside my comfort zone and be bolder in his strength. It’s amazing how he works in us when we step out in faith 🙂 Praying with you that you would continue to grow in courage and confidence, and also keep celebrating the unique gifts and beautiful personality that is unique to you.

    Like

    • God bless you! I’ll be honest, I felt a little nervous about posting this–it’s more personal than the things I usually write. The only thing that’s happened, though, is that I’ve been encouraged and uplifted, and I praise God for it! I totally understand that my problem with being shy isn’t unique to me, but sometimes it seems like I’m the only one that feels this way. Thank you for your encouraging words and prayers! It is my prayer that God will bring me to a place where He can work through me and completely change my life and those around me; I pray He will do the same thing in your life!

      Like

    • I’m glad you liked it! And “deeply thoughtful”–that’s a huge compliment to my writing. 🙂 And thanks, I had to take about twenty photos before I settled on one that I liked for the header. As for the kitty photo…well, as a cat lover, I just couldn’t help it.

      Like

  2. I know it’s hard when you’re shy, but I just want to encourage you, because even the quiet can make a difference. People might not consciously notice you, but they still notice you. Keep doing God’s good works and showing his love, and it will be noticed. And, I know it’s not really noticeable at all, but pray a ton. It really does make a difference, even though nobody knows who it was that called upon the Lord to bring him into a situation. But that makes you different, as well! Keep taking those steps to be bold! You have the strength of the creator on your side! Be blessed!

    Anna

    Like

    • Thank you for the encouragement, Anna! I do agree: In some ways you can be quiet and just stay under the radar, but you can still make a huge difference. Still, there are some situations where being shy has kept me from doing things that I feel God is calling me to do, whether it be big or small. And yes, prayer is powerful! I would like to clarify that my point isn’t to be noticed, exactly: My purpose in wanting to be “different” isn’t so that I can have people notice the things I do and tell me what a good job I did. I don’t want (well, I try not to want, which isn’t easy) praise from men; I want my Lord and Savior to tell me “Well done, good and faithful servant”! And God sees all the things we do–even the prayers that no one else does. Thank you again and have a blessed day!

      Like

Share your thoughts

