On My Mind

Superchick live Dallas

Superchick live Dallas (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I probably made a mistake today. I went to YouTube and started to listen to some of my favorite Christian music. Oh, I am such a mess inside right now. It only took four songs to make me get all teary-eyed: I Will Follow and Awake My Soul by Chris Tomlin, We Live by Superchick, and Sweetly Broken by Jeremy Riddle. Now I’m listening to Blessings by Laura Story.

You’re probably getting bored and waiting for me to get to the point. Sorry; I could talk about music all day! But that pretty much is my point. I love music; I’m always thinking about it and replaying songs in my head. And since I pretty much only listen to Christian music, I’ve got a Christian message pretty much always playing in my head.

The things we do all the time and think about affect us more than you can imagine. I want to encourage you to examine what you spend your time doing, and see if it’s drawing you closer or pulling you away from God.

I’ll be honest with you; I spend far too much time daydreaming. I daydream while I do schoolwork, while I do chores, while I fall asleep–it kind of sounds like what a Christian should be doing, only with the wrong focus. Yikes!

A couple weeks ago, I went on something I called a “daydreaming fast”. Bear with me! So, for three days I didn’t daydream at all. Every time I started to, I immediately went and did something else. And you know what? I finished school in record time, and I spent a whole lot more time praying, reading the Bible, and doing devotions.

As you can tell, shifting my focus had an enormous positive impact on my life for those three days. Unfortunately, I’ve kind of fallen out of that habit again…it’s a work in progress.

Look, I just want to step out of the picture and ask you: What is on your mind? Take the time to answer it. Then ask yourself, does that thing help me to focus on my relationship with God? Or is my relationship suffering because of it?

“This is the covenant I will make with the people of Israel after that time,” declares the Lord. “I will put my law in their minds and write it on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people. (Jeremiah 31:33)

Examine your heart. Pray, and ask God to write His Word in your heart.

They aren’t all necessarily related to this post, but I strongly recommend listening to the songs listed above. And if you don’t have the time, try to take a moment just for these two:

TTT

Related Articles:

Popular Articles:

4 thoughts on “On My Mind

  1. When I consider what is on my mind I think of Paul’s words the the Philippians. In Chapter four he speaks of rejoicing always, not being anxious and allowing God’s peace to guard our hearts and minds. Then Phil 4.8 gives us a list of traits that should guide our thinking. Then v9 promises when we practice these things the peace of God will be with us. Thought control is difficult for me but the effort is always worth it.

    Like

  2. For a teen you are way beyond in intellect. You write and sound more knowledgeable than most adults! I am sure your parents are so proud of you. And just so you know, I have been praying for you, but I have no doubt with whatever God wants you to do about your spine, you will be an example for many. My “gut” says God has big plans for you! and my gut is usually right! LOL!

    Like

    • Thank you! I was actually pretty worried about this post. I had no idea what to write, so I just wrote about the music I was listening to, without having any idea what the post was really going to be about. Praise God for letting it turn out all right! And thank you so much for being so thoughtful 🙂 You’ve made my day!

      Like

Share your thoughts

