Just Listen

Copyright © 2011 The Zondervan Corporation

Copyright © 2011 The Zondervan Corporation

Today’s daily prompt was about getting an unexpected call. As I considered the possibility of getting a post out of it, I began to wonder what a conversation between God and myself would sound like. It occurred to me that, although I try to pray often, I’m missing something incredibly important during my conversations with God. For example:

Ring.

Me: Hello?
God: Hi! It’s your heavenly Father.
Me: I’m so glad you called, God! I’ve had a lot on my mind that I really wanted to talk to you about.
God:
I thought you might.
Me: Well, let’s see. Obviously the surgery‘s been weighing on my mind. Oh, Lord, I pray for healing, but most importantly, I pray that Your will be done. Thank You for guiding me through this so far.
God: Child, I want you to know that I–
Me:
Oh! And I have a test coming up that I’m really worried about. Please help me to do well.
God:
I–
Me: Well, I don’t really have time to talk, God. I’ll catch up with You later okay? Bye!

In this fictional prayer, it looks like I’ve got a lot of things right. I ask God for the things I need, but I also pray for His will, not mine, to be done. I don’t forget to thank Him for everything He’s done so far. But You probably noticed that I do have a very bad habit: I forget to listen. It’s a very easy thing to do. After all, God probably isn’t going to audibly tell me the answers to my problems. So a lot of times, I pray for a bit and then I just leave. I don’t wait around to see if God is actually going to answer my prayer.

Our lives are just packed with things we need to do. We do one thing and, as soon as we’re done, we move on to the next. We hardly ever take time to just listen and see what God will reveal to us.

God has an amazing life planned for us. Wouldn’t it be sad if we were too busy to take the time to listen and give Him a chance to tell us of all the wonderful things He has in store for us?

If one gives an answer before he hears, it is his folly and shame. (Proverbs 18:13)

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

TTT

 

Popular Articles:

10 thoughts on “Just Listen

  1. The lost art of meditation. Yes, we believers in the One True God should quietly consider the issues we face. In those moments of quiet consideration we may be better able to hear that still small voice directing our lives in His ways.

    Like

  2. Normally, that’s how we communicate to God in some forms or shapes. When God wants to tell us something by showing us a beautiful canvass of His creation, we tend to overlook or not pay attention. Good post!

    Like

    • Absolutely! Just think that the God of the universe, our heavenly Father, wants to reveal Himself to us…but He often can’t because we’re “too busy” to spend time with Him. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Share your thoughts

