Update

Surprised to be hearing from me so soon? So am I. Right now I am sitting at home in front of my computer, basically feeling miserable.

Today at the hospital everything appeared to be going smoothly. We’d done the paperwork and the nurses had drawn my blood, and I was sitting on a bed in a hospital gown. We were pretty much just waiting for the rest of the family to come in and say goodbye, and then I would go into surgery.

Obviously, that’s not what happened. After a few minutes, the doctor’s assistant came in and informed us that there was a problem with the screws (they were going to be putting rods and screws in my back) and that they most likely would not be able to do the surgery today. Later the doctor came in and said there had been a communication problem, apologized, and sent us home.

Needless to say, we were pretty upset that they’d waited until the last minute to even see if they had everything they needed. But it’s all in God’s hands, you know? I’m sure there was a reason we couldn’t do it today. I can think of a pretty good reason right now, in fact. Some time today, I started experiencing symptoms of a cold; I just hadn’t realized it since I’ve been having really bad allergies lately. So it’s a good thing: I wouldn’t want to be trying to recover from a surgery and a cold at the same time!

The surgery’s been rescheduled for Thursday. Thank you for your prayers so far and please continue to pray! And do pray that my cold disappears by then. 🙂 I don’t think my nose can take much more of this!

God bless,

-christrocks

Share your thoughts

