Surrender

What does it mean to be surrendered to God? As Christians, we should be fully surrendered, but we are often only partially surrendered, if at all. We do this because we want to do things our way. We may pray “Your will be done”, but if we are not surrendered, we really want our will to be done.

So what is involved in being fully surrendered?

You always place God’s will above your own.

You sacrifice your own desires if they go against God’s will.

This goes beyond actions. Surrender mostly involves the heart. Does your heart desire God’s will above all things? If your outward actions make you appear fully surrendered, but your heart says otherwise, you are not surrendered at all.

To surrender is to give God control of your heart and your life.

Am I fully surrendered? I’d have to say no, but I can also say that being fully surrendered is what I want. I want to give my heart completely to God, and He’s guiding me to the place where I can do that.

Surrender. Give God control of your life.

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. (Romans 12:1)

I’d like to share with you what I think are two of the most amazing worship songs ever. Please listen, and if you’re anything like me… well, let me just say that it’s okay to cry.

TTT

5 thoughts on “Surrender

  1. Pingback: A Funny Thing Happened on the Road to becoming a Disciple | Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Share your thoughts

