Lord, I need You

I came across this verse during my devotions the other day, and I wanted to share it with you:

I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord; apart from You I have no good thing.” (Psalm 16:2, NIV)

I looked at how the verse is phrased in a few other translations to get a better grasp of it:

I said to Yahweh, “You are my Lord; I have nothing good besides You.” (HCSB)

I said to the Lord, “You are my Master! Every good thing I have comes from You.” (NLT)

Matt Maher Band

For me, this verse is convicting. It makes me ask myself, “Do I have that kind of attitude?” I don’t think I do, and I won’t until God is more important than anything–anything!–else in my life.

I know I need God, but do I need and long for Him so desperately that I can’t live without Him? That’s the kind of relationship we need to have with God. What’s more, we never have to worry about God not being there when we need Him, because He’s always there. Always.

I often find myself thinking of the song “Lord, I Need You” by Matt Maher. The lyrics perfectly describe where I want to be in my relationship with God. This is the first verse and chorus:

Lord, I come, I confess
Bowing here I find my rest
Without You I fall apart
You’re the One that guides my heart

Lord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

I want to be so close to God that I am broken without Him. But a close relationship doesn’t sprout up overnight. It takes time spent with each other; it’s a process. It’s also the most beautiful, incredible thing ever; a relationship between us and our Father. Between us and our Bridegroom. How wonderful is that?

-christrocks

Share your thoughts

