Envy

Oh, that old green-eyed monster. I’m sure you’ve met him before.

The tenth commandment says “You shall not covet”. Most days, I’m pretty good at keeping this commandment. It’s turning out that today is not one of those days.

Ah, stats envy! Do you know what I’m talking about? I’m one of those people who checks their stats a gazillion times a day; not a good practice, I’ve heard, but I can’t help it.

My two most popular posts of all time are, by far, The Beatitudes and The Importance of Friendship. Since February last year, The Beatitudes has accumulated 443 views. Since May 2011, The Importance of Friendship has reached 442 views.

In a single day, one of my dad’s posts reached 147 views, and I would be lying if I said I was not a little envious!

All silliness aside, envy can be a very serious thing. It causes us to look past what God has blessed us with and wish for more. Even if we don’t realize it, envy can cause us to feel like we’re better than God, thinking, “If God really knew what He was doing, He would give me ______”.

The only cure? We’ve all heard it before, but many of us don’t take it seriously: Count your blessings! Thank God for what He’s given you! Don’t be satisfied with a few things, like a home, a family, food, etc. (though those are all very important!). Really take some time with the Lord and think about everything He’s done for you. It’s a never-ending list.

As for me, God has blessed me through this blog, and He’s blessing my dad as well! Besides, although it’s fun to see that I’ve gotten visitors, I’m not blogging for the page views; I’m blogging so that maybe someone will read what I’ve written and be blessed by it. And as long as I have that mindset, I’m able to praise God that my dad has been able to bless so many people through his blog!

Check out my dad’s post: Pastor Chuck’s Biggest Lesson to Me

-christrocks

6 thoughts on “Envy

Share your thoughts

