A Light in the Darkness

I’ve always been scared of the dark.

As long as I can remember, I would fall asleep with the sheets over my head. It’s a funny thing, but I’ve always felt safer under the sheets. Still, it can get kind of stuffy under there, so a couple years ago I gave up the habit. Or so I thought.

A week or so ago, my family and I started watching a TV show called Fringe. Don’t get me wrong, it’s an awesome show–it just totally creeps me out! As a result, for the past week I’ve been walking around the house with all the lights on at night, and falling asleep buried under the covers. (And apparently my fear of the dark overcomes my fear of melting under the covers in the summer heat!)

street lamp at sunset

What overcomes a fear of the dark? Light. See, I’m not actually afraid of darkness itself. I’m afraid of what hides (in my imagination) in the darkness. Light drives that fear away, because with light, you can see that nothing’s really there.

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. (Psalm 119:105)

When it comes to spiritual darkness, however, we have plenty to be afraid of. But we don’t have to remain in our fear! Our God is a light that chases away the darkness! Through His light, we can see things that might cause us to stumble. In His light and with Him by our side, we see that things we might have feared in the dark no longer has a hold on us.

You may not be scared of the dark like I am, but I do hope that when it comes to your spiritual life, you have found the light!

-christrocks

Light of the world
You stepped down into darkness
Opened my eyes
Let me see
-Here I Am To Worship (Chris Tomlin)

Share your thoughts