Sharing the Gospel

Sharing the Gospel can be scary. When an opportunity presents itself, doubts begin to run through our minds:

“What if they think I’m weird?”

“What if I don’t know what to say?”

“What if I just confuse them?”

Then come the excuses.

“You know what, someone more experienced can share the Gospel with them. I’m not qualified.”

“I haven’t known them long enough. I’d better wait till I get to know them better.”

The fears are real. The excuses make some good points. So what do we do? Let’s break it down.

  • “What if they think I’m weird?” Undoubtedly, some people will think you’re weird. And guess what? What we believe in is weird, if you look at it from the world’s perspective! Romans 12:2 says that we shouldn’t be like this world. When you share the Gospel, some people will say, “Well, that was weird” and move on. Other people will say, “I don’t really understand what you’re talking about, but I know you have something different, and I want to know what it is!” That’s the response we’re waiting for; it means that God’s working on their hearts. It’s that so-called weirdness that will make you stand out, and make people say, “I want what you have!”
  • “What if I don’t know what to say?” There will be times when you’re not sure what to say. But you know the basics. You know that Jesus, the Son of God, died on the cross to save us from our sins. You know what sin is. And you know that to be saved, you must accept Jesus as your personal Savior and accept His forgiveness of your sins. Since you know that, you can share the Good News! It’s always a good thing to learn more and be prepared, though. You can learn some Bible verses that you can direct people to. And when you come across someone who can’t stop asking questions (which is great!) and you just feel lost, direct them to your pastor or a more mature Christian.
  • “What if I just confuse them?” Explain it to the best of your ability. If you feel like that isn’t enough, then get deeper into your Bible! Get some books on evangelism, and talk to your pastor. Your job isn’t to make sure they completely understand the Bible (which, by the way, is never going to happen in this life); it’s to plant a seed and possibly lead them to Christ. If they have a lot of questions, again, just direct to your pastor or a more knowledgeable Christian friend.
  • “You know what, someone more experienced can share the Gospel with them. I’m not qualified.” If you’ve accepted Christ into your heart, you’re as experienced as you need to be. You know how to be saved, and you know why you need to be saved–so just tell them that! When they have more questions, then you can direct them to someone more experienced.
  • “I haven’t known them long enough. I’d better wait till I get to know them better.” I can understand the logic behind this, but there is never a good reason to delay sharing the Gospel with someone. What if they died in a car accident tomorrow? We all have a responsibility not to wait, but to share the Good News as soon as we get the chance. 

Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” (Matthew 28:18-20)

As Christians, we can’t hide the incredible thing that God has done for us. We have been called to share it with everyone we know. This doesn’t mean we’re all called to be missionaries in the sense that God has called us to go to a foreign country to share the Gospel. But we are missionaries in the sense that we’re to share the Gospel with those in your neighborhood, people you work with or go to school with, and that random person who started a conversation with you while standing in line.

The fears and excuses don’t go away overnight. Spend time in the Word and in prayer, however, and you may be surprised.

I can do all this through him who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:13)

-christrocks

Related Articles:

3 thoughts on “Sharing the Gospel

  1. Pingback: The Effective Gospel is the Simple Gospel | Calvary Training
  2. Pingback: Christian Dirty Words | The Bible Blotter

Share your thoughts

