How Great Is Our God!

I’ve recently fallen in love with the “World Edition” of “How Great Is Our God” by Chris Tomlin.

Oddly enough, listening to the song being sung in a variety of languages made me think about the words more than I usually do. The song is incredibly powerful, but I think that I’ve heard it so many times that I’ve become kind of numb to it. I forget the incredible meaning behind those simple words.

How great is our God, sing with me
How great is our God and all will see
How great, how great is our God

Name above all names
Worthy of all praise
My heart will sing
How great is our God

How great is our God! And as I thought about how, over time, I’d forgotten the meaning of the words in this song, something else occurred to me.

We’re so used to going to church (at least) every Sunday, to having several Bibles available whenever we want to read it, that we’ve become sort of numb to the incredible power of our God. Sure, in our head, we know He’s powerful. We know He’s bigger and greater and more amazing that anything we can imagine. And yet, despite the fact that we know all this, we can’t seem to get this knowledge out of our heads and into our hearts.

God is truly indescribable. Words cannot describe just how amazing He is; our minds can’t even begin to comprehend it! He truly is the Name above all names.

If you’re going through a hard time, remember that God is so much bigger and so much more powerful than whatever it is you’re going through. If you’ve had a great day and you’re just enjoying life, look outside. Look at the flowers, the trees, the sky–all things that our God created. Look at the people you love–He created them. And He created you, and loves you more than you can imagine!

How great is our God!

-christrocks

Share your thoughts

