Should’ve… But Didn’t

Today’s post was inspired by two things. First, today’s Daily Prompt was to share about a time when you should have helped someone… but didn’t. Put that together with a recent post, Where’s the “Undo” Button?, and I immediately knew what to write about.

I don’t really want to go into all the details, but, basically, God gave me an opportunity to reach out to somebody–and I didn’t. This was about a year ago, and it’s funny how it’s stuck with me this long. To many people this may not seem like a big deal, but it really bugged me. Okay, it more than bugged me–to be honest, I cried about it once or twice.

Why did it bother me so much? I think it’s just a classic example of something I’ve been trying to do for a couple of years now; mostly, it’s a classic example of how I continue to fail in that effort.

I’m shy. Just a few years ago, I was shy to the point that I wouldn’t say “hi” to people unless they spoke to me first. I would just smile and think that was enough. For the longest time, I didn’t see anything wrong with that set-up.

Then I realized that the people I thought were rude for not saying “hi” to me… well, by that standard, I was being just as rude to them. So, almost three years ago, I started making an effort to just say “hi” to people whenever I saw them–a big deal for me!

Once that became easier, I felt like God was calling me to do more. I felt Him calling me to reach out to people in a bigger way. Saying “hi” was no longer enough.

Shortly after this came this situation I mentioned above. I thought I was doing pretty good with being more out-going and including people, etc., but for the most part I was still saying in my comfort zone. When God gave me an opportunity to do more, I guess I kind of freaked out, and I didn’t do anything. And I’ve regretted it ever since.

It’s like I’ve said before, though: There’s no undo button. Thankfully, we have opportunities to learn from our mistakes. I should have used the opportunity God gave me, but I didn’t. On the bright side, I think that since then, remembering what I didn’t do has pushed me to not miss opportunities God is sending my way, but to use them!

We can learn from our mistakes. But you can also learn from other people’s mistakes before you make it yourself! Take it from me–don’t be afraid to take hold of an opportunity God has given you!

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. (Joshua 1:9)

-christrocks

Related Articles:

Check out this blog, The Group Experiment, for more!

5 thoughts on “Should’ve… But Didn’t

  1. God’s been teaching me the same thing. Some opportunities in life can come ever so often, we need to make the most of them even if it means getting out of our comfort zone. And yes, it’s always best to learn from others mistakes, but it seems like we learn even more from our own. May God give you the boldness to do what He calls you to (shy or not)!

    Like

Share your thoughts

