I Know, I Know

Something that happened during a piano lesson yesterday morning finally inspired a post. đŸ™‚ Have you ever taught little kids before? If you have, you know that once they get something in their heads, it’s hard to get them to change their mind. In this instance, I was trying to explain the concept of rhythm to a nine year old boy.

Piano keys

As soon as I finished explaining, he said, “I know, I know,” and then went right back to the way he’d been doing it before.

I attempted to explain once again and demonstrate what he should be doing.

“I know, I know,” he said. And, of course, nothing changed.

I do hope this doesn’t reflect on my skills as a teacher, but it made me think. We often say, “I know” when we really don’t understand, or when we just want to do it our way.

It’s easy to brush away criticism given in love, or to ignore someone who’s trying to tell you that you’re doing something wrong. “I know, I know,” we say, when we really just want that person to leave us alone.

Sometimes we do that with the Holy Spirit. We get into a bad situation and the Holy Spirit says to us, “You shouldn’t be doing this.” “I know,” you say, and go right ahead.

Every time you’re tempted to brush something off and say, “I know,” pause and think. Do you really know? When someone criticizes you through love, stop and listen to them! Even if it’s harsh criticism, try to see if they’re making a valid point. And if the Holy Spirit is prodding your conscience, you should definitely take notice!

If we went through life without listening to others, it would be as messy as a pianist who doesn’t understand rhythm. If we went through life without listening to God… well, that would be more than a mess! Thankfully, God is gracious, loving, and patient; He sticks with us even when we tell Him, “I know!” He wants us to understand that what He tells us to do is the very best thing for us. Trust in God’s wisdom and His love–He won’t let you down!

Listen to advice and accept instruction, that you may gain wisdom in the future. (Proverbs 19:20)

-christrocks

2 thoughts on “I Know, I Know

  1. I recently wrote a blog called “I was wrong.” And portions of your blog reminded me of similar lessons I explained there.

    We’re quick to “know-it-all”, but we need to be quick to listen and learn. Great word!

    Like

Share your thoughts

