Worth the Cost?

It isn’t easy being different.

It’s harder to make friends. Harder to find people willing to accept you for who you are.

Being different is a short step away from feeling like an outcast. Like you don’t belong.

But then again, we don’t belong, do we?

But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, (Philippians 3:20)

If you are born again, you are a citizen of heaven. You are just passing through this life. As a Christian, yes, you are different. People will not always understand you. People might ignore you, hurt you, leave you out, just because of that.

Sometimes it makes you wonder if it’s worth the cost. I think the ultimate question is, do you want the approval of people, or God’s? Because you often can’t have both. People will ridicule you for doing what’s right.

Looking back at what I’ve written, it feels kind of silly. I mean, people die every day for believing in Jesus Christ. And here I am worrying about not having friends and not being accepted. (And even then, it’s an exaggeration to say I don’t have any friends). But maybe that’s just the price I pay. Maybe you have a different price you pay. The fact of the matter is, the world is against God. So if you are following him, the world will be against you.

Back to my question. Is it worth the cost?

Yes. Without a doubt.

Would you trade eternal life for acceptance? Would you trade a relationship with Jesus for a friend who wouldn’t even like you as a Christian? It’s seems pretty obvious when you put it like that, but when you’re experiencing stress and hard times, it can be hard to see that.

All I can tell you to do is the same thing I’m trying to do myself. I’m trying to strengthen my relationship with God. To get to know Him better. Because life isn’t easy, but God is our Rock. He is our strength. He gives us hope, and peace, and life. He gives us more than this world could ever offer. Whatever the cost of serving Him, He will give us back so much more.

Whatever you’re going through, know that God is for you. That He has overcome the world, and we can find strength, our joy, in Him. He is the very best friend we could ever have.

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world. (John 16:33)

-christrocks

2 thoughts on “Worth the Cost?

Share your thoughts

