Traces of You and Me

cemetery

cemetery (Photo credit: notarim)

Have you ever thought about what will happen when we’re gone? I don’t think about it often, but when I do, questions start popping up everywhere.

How will people remember me? (Or, will people remember me at all?)

Will I have made a difference? Will I have impacted at least one person’s life?

Will I die as a person who lived for others, as a servant, or as one that lived only for myself?

These are tough questions, but we have to face them. Some die young. Some live to what is considered an old age, but what is eighty, ninety, even a hundred years? A blink. A flash. Methuselah (the oldest man in the Bible) died when he was 969 years old. That may seem like forever to you and me, but in the eyes of eternity, it is still nothing.

Another thing to ask ourselves is, since we have so little of it, what are we doing with our time? Are we using it wisely? Are we using it for God? Or are we using it on things that will soon be gone anyway, things that, in the long run, will mean nothing?

Jim Elliot

Jim Elliot (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I just started reading Through Gates of Splendor by Elisabeth Elliot. (If you don’t know the story, I encourage you to read the book, watch the movie, or just Google it!) It is an incredible story (the movie made me cry). The most well-known of the group was Jim Elliot, who was martyred at the age of 28. Just from reading the first chapter of the book, I get the impression that he had a closer relationship and understanding of God than most of us will ever have in a lifetime. And there’s no denying the fact that he impacted the world in a huge way.

Here’s my challenge: Are you spending your life growing your relationship with God? Are you striving to further His kingdom in everything you do? Are you looking to make an impact, instead of just leaving a trace?

I’m not saying that doing those things involves becoming famous or even dying for Christ. Most of us probably won’t. But are you making an impact on those around you? Are you being a Godly example? Because it’s what you do in the lives of others that will make a difference when you’re gone. So make that difference! Be a servant. Live for God.

He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. 

-Jim Elliot

-christrocks

Share your thoughts

