My Resolution is a Request

happy new yearResolutions are a great idea. It’s always good to challenge yourself. Maybe this year your resolution is to be a better child, or parent, or sibling. Maybe you want to do better in work or school. Perhaps you’re looking to make your goal something a little more specific. Maybe you want to read the Bible in a year, or you want to quit a bad habit that’s been bogging you down.

The problem with resolutions is that they aren’t easy. Setting goals on New Year’s Eve? No problem! Putting those goals into action on New Year’s Day? A bit harder. And as the days go by, it becomes increasingly difficult meet your goals.

Unfortunately, I’ve found that I’m definitely not an exception to that rule. In 2012 I decided I was going to read the Bible in a year. I did pretty well for a while, but eventually got bogged down in the minor prophets and gave up, going back to my normal Bible reading.

So this year, my resolution is going to be a little different. If I phrased it like I usually would, it might sound something like, “This year, I want to develop a closer relationship with God.” The problem with that is how I go about it: “I’m going to do this” and “I’m going to do that”. Because, honestly, what can we do without God? It sounds especially odd in my case, since it kind of sounds like I’m going to grow closer to God all by myself! (lol). But it applies to all of us. Whatever you’re resolving to do in the coming year, why not turn it into a request? Ask God to help you achieve your goals. Ask Him to help you persevere to the end, and ask Him to show you anything else in your life that could use a few “resolutions”.

As for me, I’m going to ask God to help me grow closer to Him. That’s definitely not a one-way goal! And, being human, I can expect to become distracted, to fall behind, to forget. But I can always expect God to encourage me daily; to bring me through the coming year; and to always be at my side. Just as He will always be there to uplift, love, and carry you through, whatever your goals might be for 2014.

So what are your resolutions for the new year? I saw this quote today, and, if you don’t have any resolutions yet, this is an excellent one:

Resolution One: I will live for God. Resolution Two: If no one else does, I still will.

-Jonathan Edwards

-christrocks

2 thoughts on “My Resolution is a Request

  1. Lovely post, I especially like what you said about asking God to help us achieve our goals and revealing what our resolutions should be. Great way to let God lead the way in 2014.

    Like

    • Thank you! A lot of people see the new year as an opportunity to try something new or try to change something about themselves for the better. I just thought, shouldn’t we stop and ask God what He wants us to achieve in this new year, and, just as important, ask Him to help us reach that goal? God bless! 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts

