Facing the Future

The future. Everyone’s future is different, but most of us have similar feelings about it. For some, the future is scary. For others, it’s exciting and full of possibilities. Still others are in between. They aren’t thrilled about the future, but they aren’t terrified by it either. There is, however, something everyone’s future has in common.

It’s uncertain.

Personally, the future’s been on my mind a lot lately. I’ve come to a point in life when everything kind of revolves around the future. Where do I go to college? What do I major in? What scholarships should I apply for? And so on and so forth. Honestly, it didn’t take much of this before I started getting stressed out and depressed. Because the future is uncertain. And it’s very easy to become overwhelmed by all the decisions that have to be made, and the… sheer uncertainty of everything. I think, to be honest, that I’m one of those people that is terrified by the future.

Here’s what I keep reminding myself. As Christians, our future (usually, since there are exceptions) isn’t any less vague or uncertain than the world’s. However, there is a difference. We serve the Lord, who already knows our future and holds it in His hands. He not only knows our future and what it will bring, but, if we allow Him, He is already preparing us for it.

I’d like to share something to illustrate my point. Ever since I can remember, I’ve wanted to be on my church’s worship team. Most of the reason for this was because there were two teenage (I think–this was a while ago) girls that sang on the worship team at my old church. My best friend and I were basically in awe of them, and we both decided that someday we were going to be on the worship team.

Now, our motives weren’t good (at least mine wasn’t). I just wanted to do it because I thought it would make me cool, or something like that. But even as I grew older and realized people didn’t just join the worship team because it was “cool”, the desire stuck with me–even as we moved to a different state and started attending a new church.

This is where I really started to see God at work, and it makes me smile just to think about it. The woman who had led our church’s worship for many years was getting married and leaving the church, so she was looking for new people to join the team and keep it going. I had sung for her a few months before, just to get her thoughts and advice on my singing. Maybe that brought me to her mind, so shortly after my thirteenth birthday, she asked my mom if she thought I’d be interested in trying out for the worship team.

Upon hearing the news, I think I nearly had a heart attack from pure elation. By the time the year came to a close, I had even led worship by myself a couple times. But here’s the interesting part: None of this was because of me. It wasn’t because I’m an incredibly talented singer or pianist. My voice was okay. My piano skills were pretty good, but she had to teach me how to play chords. Let’s just say that had the situation been any different, I wouldn’t have gotten that opportunity.

Piano keys

So was God at work? Absolutely. He gave me a desire to serve the church through music, but, had I really thought about it, I would have thought it impossible. At the very least, I thought it was something that might happen in the very distant future. But God made it possible. And He did it in a way that made it clear that He was working in my life. It wasn’t because of my skill or my awesomeness (lol). It was all Him.

It’s been almost three years since I joined the worship team. It’s been an awesome privilege to serve the church as a musician, and I’ve also grown a great deal (I hope) as a singer, a pianist, and a Christian. But now I’m facing more uncertainty. I have a desire to serve God in a way that honestly seems impossible. I’ve spent nights crying because I have this pressing urge to do something that appears unattainable. And you think I would know by now that God is guiding my path, that He knows my desires and He knows my future.

I know all of this. Now I just have to learn to trust.

If you’re facing uncertainties about your future, I’ve done what I can. I’ve shared my story and I’ve shared what I know to be true. But now, if you also believe that God is your Guide, we’re in the same position. We have to trust that God will carry out His plan. We have to cast our cares, our worries, and our fears upon Him, knowing that He is greater than all of them.

In a changing world with an uncertain future… trust the God that never changes, and who will always, always love you.

I can do all this through him who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:13)

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. (Jeremiah 29:11)

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever. (Hebrews 13:8)

-christrocks

7 thoughts on “Facing the Future

  1. This is such a powerful post, Christrocks. I love what you say about it being about God, and his direction and timing. I’m sure you’ve been such a blessing in the last three years, and will continue to be as you use your gifts for his glory. I pray that the endeavor which seems unattainable will become your next opportunity and step of faith. I read somewhere that if our dreams don’t scare us they aren’t big enough! It might be scary, but, as you say, your God is with you and will give you the strength to understand and carry out his will…
    (Great song too. I feel really encouraged as I bring my own ‘scary’ dreams before him!)

    Like

    • Thank you! Your encouragement means a lot to me. 🙂 That’s a good point! And maybe God wants us to aim for those scary dreams. If they aren’t scary, that would mean that we feel like we can achieve them in our own strength. He wants to work the seemingly impossible in us, that He may be glorified!
      God bless!

      Like

  2. Love this! God really can do incredible things with our lives if we just surrender our desires to Him. He puts certain gifts in us for a reason and it’s amazing when you are able to start using them to bless others and glorify Him. I’m glad He brought you this far and is using you to serve on the worship team and I pray that He’ll continue leading you into what He calls you to do next with Him. Be blessed!

    Like

  3. Christy, you have nailed it. It all comes down to trust . . . yet that is the hardest thing. Think about the weirdness of the human heart: we trust Jesus for our eternal salvation, yet struggle to trust Him for the next step we are to take.

    Like

Share your thoughts

