Time for a Change

Yesterday I was flipping through my WordPress reader, trying to catch up on all the posts I hadn’t read. I came across a post by my dad that had been published a few days before, titled Hope and Rebirth From Depression and Defeat. And so I read.

And Daddy: Thank you for posting that.

It’s a funny thing, now that I think about it. My dad wrote a post about (and please read it, don’t just trust my summary!) how he was inspired to continue on in something because of someone he didn’t know who said they were inspired by him. And that post inspired me.

If that makes any sense, hooray! Moving on.

timeYou see, lately I’ve just felt busy. And busy isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Most days, I’d rather be busy than have nothing to do. These past few months, however, I have felt incredibly busy, having no time for anything; yet, at the same time, I feel like I have accomplished very little.

Here’s an example. August last year I started school. One of the subjects was chemistry, which I am currently half-way through. And yes, you read that right.

I have never (I’m home schooled, by the way), ever fallen so far behind in school. When we moved to a new house a few months ago, however, I feel like something broke. I forgot how to do all my work in a day. And bit by bit, I fell behind. I felt like I was working all day, and yet I was still falling behind. It’s an awful feeling.

(I would like to interject here that I’m not trying to say anything bad about home schooling. I love it! This is just something I’m working through right now.)

Because of this seeming lack of time, I’ve been doing other things less. Most relevantly, blogging. If you follow The Teen Theme, you know I’ve slowed down to just one post every week or two. I didn’t want that to happen, but happen it did.

Then, the other night (the night before my birthday, actually!), I had what you could call a revelation. This thought suddenly came into my head: “What have I been doing these past few months? What have I accomplished?” I hadn’t been doing as much school as I should have been. I had barely been blogging. Four months of my life were just gone, and I had no idea why.

I never want that to happen again.

changeNext, I came across my dad’s post. I think what it really did was reinforce my revelation. It struck me (not for the first time, but some ideas need to strike more than once to get through) that I am incredibly blessed. With many, many things, yes; but in that particular moment, my thoughts went toward my blog. Through this blog, I have a platform. I have a chance to impact the lives of people I don’t even know. How cool is that?! I’ve often said, it doesn’t matter how many views or follows I get; but if I have affected for the better just one person’s life, then this blog mean something. If I can make one person smile, or feel closer to God, or remember that through the dark times, He is still there–then my time here has been well spent.

And so I wondered: Over the past four months, how many opportunities have I missed to touch someone’s life? I’ll never know. But I do know this. I am not going to let my time slip by again.

So yes, in other words: You can expect me to start posting more frequently! But, please know, this is so much more than that. I feel like this is a life-changing moment. Maybe in a month I’ll look back and laugh at the thought, but for now, what counts is that I am ready to make a change for the better in my life. And if that isn’t life-changing, I don’t know what is.

That’s all I have to say for now. If you get the chance, please pray that I’ll be able to follow this through!

God bless,

christrocks

4 thoughts on “Time for a Change

  1. It’s been a long time since I’ve poked my head in to comment here! 🙂 But yes, lately I’ve been feeling the same. I’m in a similar boat with school. Four chemistry modules, nine history chapters, and waaay too much pre-calc left. (Not to mention that half-finished novel from LAST year… oops.)
    The last two to three years have been rough for a number of reasons, but I’ve used circumstances and being busy/tired as an excuse not to be as diligent as I ought. So I suppose this is my commitment to strive for diligence in the small hard things again… both to glorify God in academics/honor my parents with diligence, and to have more time to bless others by not having to do school all day, every day, year round. And yes, I will pray! Will you keep me in your prayers as well? Breaking bad habits is such a battle.

    Like

    • Hi Jessica, I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to reply! I’ve been at a conference these past few days. I’m so glad you took the time to stop by. 🙂 It’s nice to know I’m not the only one dealing with this! And it’s so encouraging to know that you’re also making the commitment to pull your life–or time, to be specific–together again. Thank you for your prayers, I will absolutely keep you in mine!
      God bless,
      -christrocks
      P.s. It’s funny that you should mention how breaking habits is a battle. It truly is, and spiritual warfare (the battles that. constantly rage around us) was the focus of the conference I attended! I plan on writing on it as soon as possible. I hope you’ll have a chance to read it, and let me know what you think. 🙂

      Like

      • You’re never the only one struggling with something. Someone told me that once. Dealing with things is so much harder when you feel like you’re the only one… another part of the spiritual battle. And thank you!
        I’ll keep an eye out for that post!
        ~Jessica

        Like

        • Very true! The devil would like us to think that we’re the only one dealing with something. He wants us to think that we’re worse than everybody else. The truth is, we all have our problems (and many of us have the same ones!), and we all need God’s salvation–none of us more or less than anyone else!

          Like

Share your thoughts

