A Christmas Poem

snow on a branch

How does one write a Christmas poem?

Oh, where shall I start?

‘Tis not the day but ’tis the season

For some Christmas thoughts.

Should I wish to remind of you

Of presents you’ve yet to buy,

I could write of gifts and Santa Claus

Of stockings and trees I would sigh.

Or perhaps you would rather I write of the songs

We sing this time of year.

“Jingle Bells” and “Silent Night”

And others we hold so dear.

Maybe you wish I’d write nothing at all

And ignore Christmas day altogether.

“Happy Holidays!” I would cheerfully say

And then we could talk of the weather.

But if I wish to remind you of a more beautiful thing

Than gifts and trees and toys,

I would speak of a night, cold and clear,

A night that we think of with joy.

For on that night a life began,

That life could be ours in abundance.

A gift held close and ever so dear

By those with arms open to receive it.

I write to remind you not to wait till Christmas day

To bring praise to our God and King,

But to begin on this day to give thanks and to pray

And to bring Him an offering of love.

If we wait for one day to profess all our thanks,

We’re really missing the point.

God longs to hear us on the tenth and the fourth

As well as the twenty-fifth.

So take a moment to stop and pray

And thank Him for what He’s done.

The life He’s given, the debt He’s paid

Should be sung of more than one day alone.

-christrocks

