Decisions: Your Gut Might Be Wrong

Trust in the Lord with All Thine Heart

Trust in the Lord with All Thine Heart (Photo credit: David Hepworth)

I’m not much of a Daily Prompt person, but I couldn’t think of anything to write, so here I am.

How do you make decisions? Go with your gut? Reason it out? I’m more the type to reason through it. If I’m honest with myself, though, my reasoning skills and my gut reaction are both sadly lacking in the good-decision-making area. Thankfully, I have the feeling that I (and probably many other Christians) fall into a separate category altogether.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; (Proverbs 3:5)

We make decisions every day. Many of them are small and have little to no effect on our life as a whole. However, we all face important, even life-changing decisions; and we don’t have to make them on our own.

I think that a lot of people don’t take prayer seriously. I would like to say that I do; there is not a doubt in my mind that every prayer is heard and answered by our heavenly Father. Sadly, I struggle with taking the time out of my day to just sit and have a conversation with God; that’s something I’ve been working on.

If we are facing a big decision, we need to know that we can (and should) go to God in prayer about it. Ask Him for guidance, wisdom, and peace. The proverb above says not to lean (rely) on your own understand, and how true that is! It is difficult for us to make good decisions on our own. One, we have a limited understanding and won’t always be able to foresee the consequences of our choosing one way or another. Also, we can’t deny that we often make the wrong decision knowing all the while that it is wrong. We’re not perfect. We reside in the flesh, and if we choose not to rely on God, we are prone to making the wrong decisions.

The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it? (Jeremiah 17:9)

Look, your heart is of the flesh. You can’t just “go with your gut” or “reason it out” and expect to make Godly decisions. In fact the only way we can make Godly decisions is if we actually involve God in them.

Pray for wisdom, then decide.

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom, and whatever you get, get insight. (Proverbs 4:7)

TTT

Popular Articles:

2 thoughts on “Decisions: Your Gut Might Be Wrong

Share your thoughts

